British Isles
The British Isles comprise an archipelago located in northwestern Europe. There are two large islands, Britain and Ireland, and a large host of small ones; these include the Shetland, Orkney, and Hebrides groups, as well as numerous others. Below is a listing of the sovereigns of Great Britain, followed by an index to localities within the Isles which have retained separate historical identities.

For any visiting this section from other pages in this archive, here is an express back to where you were before...

Alabama, Alberta, Anguilla, Antigua, Australia, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bonaire, Botswana, British Columbia, Brunei, Connecticut, Curacao, Cyprus, Delaware, Dominica, Egypt, Fiji, Florida, Georgia, Ghana, Gibralter, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guyana, Hannover, Illinois, India, Indiana, Iraq, Israel, Jamaica, Jordan, Kentucky, Kuwait, Lesotho, Maine, Malaysia, Malta, Manitoba, Martinique, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Montserrat, Myanmar, New Brunswick, Newfoundland, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, New Zealand, Nigeria, North Carolina, Northwest Territories, Nova Scotia, Ohio, Oman, Ontario, Orange Free State, Oregon, Pakistan, Pennsylvania, Prince Edward Island, Qatar, Quebec, Rhode Island, St. Croix, St. Eustatius, St. Kitts-Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Martin, St. Vincent, Saskatchewan, Singapore, South Africa, South Carolina, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Swaziland, Tennessee, Tonga, Transvaal, Trinidad-Tobago, Vermont, Virginia, Virgin Islands, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Yukon, Zanzibar, Zimbabwe, Zululand

    Channel Islands The Bailiwicks of Guernsey and Jersey, together with Alderney, Brechou, Herm, Jethou, and Sark.
    England At the moment, this page details England and the Anglo-Saxon Kingdoms, along with a variety of British Kingdoms and principalities as well.
    Ireland Currently, this page covers the High Kings at Tara, as well as the later English Kingdom. Beyond that, notes on the "Five Fifths", several Anglo-Norman establishments, and Viking Dublin are present.
    Isle of Man This page covers the Isle from the 5th century on, including the later English inheritance.
    Scotland Currently, this page covers DalRiada, the Isles, Lothian, Moray, the Jarls of Orkney, the Picts, Mediaeval and modern Scotland, and Strathclyde.
    Wales Currently this has Brycheiniog, Deheubarth, Dunoding, Dyfed, Ergyng, Glywysing, Gwent, Gwerthrynion, Gwynedd, Meirionydd, Morgannwyg, and Powys.

GREAT BRITAIN Formed by the union of the Kingdoms of England and Scotland, with a single parliament mandated, to sit at London.. These two Kingdoms had been in personal union before this, from 1603; but the two nations retained separate legislatures until the creation of Great Britain.

For a complete sequence of brief biographies of English and Scottish sovereigns, see English Monarchs.